Writerly Musings: First Person or Third Person?

Greetings! I haven’t written here in a while, mainly because I am trying to focus on writing and working on a few projects of mine I’ve been putting off (more on that later…at some point).

tumblr_me6m6eayjy1qe7uvjo1_500

TODAY IS NOT THAT DAY WINSTON. Anyway, moving on.

Today while I was having a really good surge of writing motivation, the following thought crossed my mind:

I have heard a variety of individuals state their distaste for novels written in the first person. I personally have always enjoyed them, and was surprised to hear the negative feelings from others! So, I thought I would turn to you and ask you what you prefer, both as a writer and as a reader.

Do you prefer the first or third person tense? Pending on your answer, why or why not?

Shoulder Angels

Please leave your thoughts in the comments below, and I look forward to hearing your insights! For the time being though, I will resume my power hour of writing. 😉

Sincerely,

The Shoe

Nick Miller flower power

2 thoughts on “Writerly Musings: First Person or Third Person?

  1. Good question. I’ve been thinking about that myself lately. I think both–depends on the piece/book. You have to like philosophizing and soul searching if you prefer first person POV.

    • Thank you so much for your insight! I never really thought about it, but I have always naturally gravitated towards first person POV. However, I can definitely see the benefits of third person POV and some of the shortcomings of first person POV. Either way, I completely agree-it truly depends on the type of book you are writing.

Leave a Reply

