Blank Pages and New Year Resolutions, Part Two

About a year ago, a very conflicted young woman came up with the brilliant idea of starting a blog. She settled on the idea that the blog would channel her frustrations regarding life at that point, in the present, as a part-time working post college grad struggling to find herself. She hoped to include humor as well as serious insights, and had the goal to update it on a weekly basis, so that at the end of the year there would be exactly 52 blog posts.

I was short by about 35.

nick and jess unexpected

But that’s okay. Yes, I would have loved to have kept up with this blog a little better, but the fact that I did succeed in 17 posts is a small victory in of itself.

Sometimes we forget the little victories we happen to make, whether during our day, during a year, or during a lifetime. Maybe some of you are disappointed that you didn’t succeed in losing the 50 pounds you wanted to in 2013…

little bit fat

but maybe you managed to change your diet and are maintaining a healthier lifestyle…

romy diet tricks

Maybe you didn’t find the love of your life…

zero boyfriends

but maybe you got better at loving yourself this past year…

i love you myself

These small victories could be any number of things, and they should be celebrated…

new girl gif blog 4

instead of ignored in the shadow of resolution and goal “failures”…

megryan_crying

In all seriousness…

My year, as stated about this time last year, started out as a blank canvas-and it was honestly one of the best ways I had started a year. It was the first year I had no prior engagements, such as standing up in a wedding. Aside from working my part-time job, what I would do with my spare time was a mystery to me.

It’s amazing how fast and full a year can fill up. As I write this and reflect upon this past year, it went from a blank canvas to a colorful collage very quickly. The year started with a gray hair, and ended with two more. But in between those silvery strands, a trip out east to Washington, D.C. was planned, I attended the wedding of a dear friend or two, and I landed my first full-time job, finally, after almost a year and a half post graduation. The hours of perfecting cover letters, tweaking my resume, and nervously answering questions during first and second interviews ultimately paid off.

I can’t quite explain it, but it’s a weird feeling. An odd, weird sort of calm has come over me since I was faced with that job offer letter. Life, like any new year, is still very much a mystery to me. However, I am starting to see through the fog that is my life at what various things could await me. I say could because as much as I plan to head towards a certain object or person or goal or ideal, something could happen at the last second and change my course like a freak storm on the high seas.

But knowing that and being okay with that oddly makes me feel at peace. I’m trying to not plan too much, but at the same time, using my head with a side of common sense and figuring out what I do want for whatever path I wind up going down. It’s like not planning out every aspect of a trip, but preparing one’s self for anything. Sometimes the best preparation is an enthusiastic attitude, a willingness to try, and an open mind.

So, with that said, I’m going to greet 2014 with open arms, and try to view it like yet another blank canvas. Preparing for nothing other than being surprised.

Here’s to 2014 and the many surprises that come with it.

lea michele new years eve

One thought on “Blank Pages and New Year Resolutions, Part Two

  1. Reblogged this on Emotionally Naked and commented:

    Last year, I wrote a piece titled Blank Pages and New Year Resolutions, Part Two. Seeing as it was a year later, I decided to read the post again to see how it held up over the course of 2014.

    Surprisingly, there were a few things I needed to hear. Again.

    So in honor of Throwback Thursday and celebrating the New Year of 2015, I’m throwing it back to an oldie but a goodie this week. I hope you enjoy it, and I hope despite it being a year old, find its message still hopeful. đŸ™‚

    See the post below!

Leave a Reply

