Life Is

Short. Sweet. Tough, so get a helmet. Unfair. Unjust. Sucky. Wonderful. Weird. Hard. Easy.

life tattoo quote

We have all heard those first two words connected with many other words over the years. Sometimes the sentence ends positively before the period, and other times it is depressing and the least motivating thing you read all week. Either way, everyone has an opinion on life, and most likely, an ever changing opinion depending on what is going on in their lives at the moment.

For example, two weeks ago I was thinking “life is too short to settle down,” and last week I reversed my thought to”life is too short to be single.” At the moment my thought is “Life is just short so I should savor it in whatever form it comes in, whatever direction it goes.”

Life just is.

game of life

We are all going to die. The little, mocking, silvery threads that keep magically appearing among my correctly pigmented locks are a reminder of that. Losing loved ones is a reminder of that. We are all going to die, and our earthly mortality on this planet will end.

So…why the hell do we spend so much time worrying about how our life turns out?!

The end result is the same for everyone, and while we should definitely care about ourselves, our fellow man, our fellow earthly neighbors that are cute and fuzzy, and the like, why do we honestly spend so much time worrying about the temporaries of this life, and instead focus on the few and precious constants that we do know and that we do have?

I am 22 years old. I have no idea what direction my life is headed! I hope it is a good direction, and I have a few ideas of where I would like to go and what I would like to see, but I’m not entirely in charge of my so called destiny. So why do I expend so much energy and time worrying about things that in five years, ten years, fifty years will not matter at all or will be completely forgotten?

I don’t need a six digit yearly salary to be happy and enjoy my friends and family’s company. I don’t need (as much as I sometimes think I do) to travel the globe, collecting stamps in my passport. I don’t need a piece of paper from the government to prove I am and would be committed to my boyfriend and I don’t need a big princess dress and tons of beautiful (yet brief) floral arrangements to share with the world that I love him. I don’t need a big dream house (as much as mine would be awesome), I don’t need 2.5 kids (even though I love children and do hope for some at some point) I don’t need even an in unit washer and dryer in my future apartment (as much as a slight part of me disagrees with that statement)….

All I need is love. Food for bodily nourishment so I can stay alive until it is my time to go, and maybe some clothes so I don’t freeze (or shock people with what is underneath all of…this), and a place to call home (for now) during snow storms and thunder storms. Some people don’t even have that.

life is beautiful

I want to spend more time being grateful about what I do have, and less time worrying about what I lack.

Because life is.

And I plan on enjoying it while I can.

One thought on “Life Is

  1. Pingback: 25 Things To Do Before You Get Married or Get Married Before You Turn 25… | Emotionally Naked

Leave a Reply

